AYON monthly beginner’s topic - December‘23

Welcome to our Monthly beginner’s thread. This forum topic is used to capture all beginner questions (and answers) in one place. We start a new one every month on 1st of the month and lock the previous one.

We if you feel your question deserves it’s own topic in one of the existing categories, then by all means go for it and create on. We’ll also try our best to split out any interesting questions to their own topics when they warrant a bigger conversations.

So go ahead and ask to your heart’s content.

Questions Summary:

I’m new to Ayon, where to start ?

Here it’s I’m new to Ayon, where to start?

How to keep up with Ayon updates ?

Here it’s How to keep up with Ayon updates

How to use Ayon in Dev mode ?

Here’s a guide about it Ayon Developer Mode – Guide

When should I update dependency packages ?

As mentioned in How to keep up with Ayon updates? guide…
you may need to use a particular dependency package when using some addons.
It’s considered to make a table to track specify which dependency package is compatible with which version of addons.
Personally, I set everything to the latest.

How to use different bundles with different projects?

I made a separate post for it :smiley:, check it How to use different bundles with different projects?

How to add new task types in Ayon ?

you can add as many task types as you want in settings :wink: and then you’ll be able to find it when creating new task.

For existed projects: you can update your project settings

For future projects: you can update your project presets.

Back up Ayon DB

This is some how not related to ayon itself but to postgres container that runs in Ayon stack.

• run docker compose exec postgres pg_dump -U ayon > backup.sql to create database dump
  • copy storage/ , addons/ , docker-compose.yml and backup.sql to the new machine (and other supporting files)