AYON from non-developer point of view, also some issues on addons

Hello,

As a 3D Generalist working in the industry I’d like to thank you for finally making a
proper pipeline framework, available to studios and more so creatives.

I’m not an expert in any of this, but I was able to set up an AYON server on an AWS free-tier instance for initial testing and understanding before proper deployment for my fully remote studio setup (if only I can have a solid understanding of how everything works).

After the setup and my first login to the server, I selected the required addons, and after that, I could see them. According to this documentation: Testing AYON pipeline early access beta (Deprecated), I have to install addons manually to it’s directory (but the documentation is deprecated?) so I followed everything starting with step 4. yet I can’t see the AYON menu item in Maya 2022. I checked the application settings, executable path, re-downloaded the launcher, re-installed it without luck. Currently stuck on this and probably going to ask in a different thread if I can’t troubleshoot.

I’m also taking some notes about the setup and the general user experience of my own to post here so that it might be helpful for future documentation or at least make it easier to understand for non-developers as well. I’m currently having a hard time understanding the terminology. Bundles, overrides, addons, and packages, simply the pipeline. But the idea of having validators inside DCC’s and proper publishing and authoring combined with project tracking/management is something I cannot miss.