SiteSync - On-Prem <-> Google Drive Syncing

Hey all! I’m very new to Ayon so apologies for any naivety haha.

I’m currently setting up SiteSync for our studio and need a little help. In our current setup, we have on-prem studio storage, gdrive, and local disks. For explanation’s sake, I will break up the desired workflow into 3 steps :

1. We want the remote artists to be able to sync from gdrive to local when they start their tasks, and then when they’re ready to publish, we want them to be able to sync their publishes from local to gdrive.
  2. We want gdrive and studio storage to always match their contents and sync between each other.
  3. We want the on-prem artists to be able to work off of and publish to the studio storage.

Currently, Ayon is communicating with gdrive properly and syncing files when they are published by remote artists (as described in step 1). And on-prem artists are able to work directly off the studio storage (as described in step 3).

However, the current struggle is coming from getting gdrive and the studio storage to sync between each other when a publish is made (as described in step 2). Is this something Ayon is capable of doing? I thought that was what the “alternative sites” setting was for, but I’m unable to get gdrive and studio to sync.

Here are the settings at the project level

Here are the sitesync settings for a remote worker

Here are the sitesync settings for an on-prem worker

Does anybody have any insight on configuring sitesync like this? Is sitesync unable to do a
gdrive<->studio sync in the way we’re trying to achieve?

Any help would be great! Thank you so much.

There was an answer by @Petr_Kalis on discord here:

You will need to run one additional Tray as a studio (and set its remote site to gdrive).
For more details, see: Site Sync Admin Docs | AYON Docs

Hey,
I’ve applied some cosmetics on your post if you don’t mind :wink:

1 Like

Thank you for the help everyone!